General Information about CBSS

History and Organisation

Council of the Baltic Sea States - MapThe Council of the Baltic Sea States was established at a conference of the foreign ministers of Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Russia, Sweden and a member of the European Commission in Copenhagen in March 1992. Iceland joined the CBSS in 1995.

The CBSS serves as an overall regional forum for intergovernmental cooperation, focusing on the need for intensified coordination of activities in virtually every field of government among the Baltic Sea States. BSS Ministerial meetings have been held in the following fields: children's affairs; culture; economic, industry and trade affairs; education; energy; environment; health; information society; justice and home affairs; labour; social affairs; spatial planning; transport; youth affairs.

CBSS meetings at the level of Directors General have been held in the following fields: border control, civil protection, customs, prosecutors-general, tax administration.

The organisational framework of the Council of the Baltic Sea States is based on its Terms of Reference. Since its founding, the annual Council sessions at the level of foreign ministers are the main forum for political guidance and overall coordination, and have also served to promote closer interaction with regional organisations at the parliamentary and sub-state level.

Since 1996, the biennial meetings of the CBSS Member States' heads of government have added a new dimension to the work of the CBSS. In accordance with the recommendation of the 3rd Baltic Sea States Summit in 2000, the CBSS officially encompasses all regional intergovernmental, multilateral cooperation among the group of CBSS countries. Field ministers continue to cooperate within their respective areas of responsibility and meet in accordance with their own decisions but the overall coordinating role in the CBSS is the responsibility of the foreign ministers.

GeysirCBSS Membership

The Council of the Baltic Sea States comprises of the following 12 Members:
Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Russia, Sweden and the European Commission.
Level of representation: Foreign Ministers and a representative of the European Commission

CBSS Structure and Bodies

- The Council
- Committee of Senior Officials (CSO)
- Working Group on Economic Cooperation (WGEC)
- Working Group on Democratic Institutions (WGDI)
- Working Group on Nuclear and Radiation Safety (WGNRS)
- Lead Country Function for Civil Security
- Lead Country Function For EuroFaculty-Kaliningrad
- Baltic Sea Region Energy Cooperation (BASREC)
- Baltic 21 - Senior Officials Group
- Working Group for Cooperation on Children at Risk
- Working Group on Youth Affairs
- Senior Officials on Information Society
- Ars Baltica Organising Committee
- EuroFaculty
- Baltic Sea Monitoring Group on Heritage Cooperation
- Business Advisory Council
- Ad-hoc Working Group on Transportation Issues
- Baltic Sea Customs Conference
- Baltic Sea Region Border Control Cooperation

CBSS Secretariat
Strömsborg ˇ P.O. Box 2010 ˇ 103 11 Stockholm ˇ Sweden
Tel +46 8 440 19 20 ˇ Fax +46 8 440 19 44 ˇ E-mail